Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Motor replacement

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Motor replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 08:04 PM
slackyhacky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor replacement

Hello all!

I have read many things on this great forum, but finally needed to ask a question.

I recieved a EPO C-182 from HobbyKing. It was a PNP so I just hooked up the batter and transmitter etc. Because I am new to this (I flew a Champ for a while, and flew a hobbyzone T-28 Micro), I did not check on things properly like I should. At any rate, my first flight with this bird ended up with a 2 foot flight with a crash into the ground which dislodged the motor.

After resoddering the wires (the motor had essentially destroyed the wires), the motor doesn't work properly - so now I need to replace the motor. (The motor is a 1400kv brushless system - no idea what the max current is).

I know very little about this and have read a ton - but there is no great place that discusses the anatomy of a motor - and the sights that sell the motors don't discuss how to mount them.

It looks like most motors are rounded on the end (see the picture).

However, my motor has a protruding end that needs to be placed in the cylindrical receiver (pictured). In addition, the shaft needs to be at least 1 3/16 inches (~30mm) from the leading edge (not the back edge of the motor which is how I have seen them measured....very strange). I have yet to see a shaft anywhere near that. Also, it needs to be threaded.

So my question is two fold. Could someone suggest a good replacement motor that would fit?

Can someone suggest a good site that discussed the anatomy of the motor so that I could have answered this question on my own?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	By76462.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	1793785   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62521.jpg
Views:	12