Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Second plane

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Second plane

Looking for a second plane. Thinking Sig 4 Star or Sig Mid Star.I'm looking to make it an electric conversion.

Thoughts on one or the other? I have some building experience, and I've been flying a HZ Super Cub all summer. I"m very proficient with it on Hi rate setting and most aggressive throw on the control horns.

Any suggestions would be great.

John

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Second plane

G'day

I have the Four Star 40 and the Mid Star 40. They both fly well though I find the Mid Star easier to fly as its wing is larger and so its wing loading is lower.

When I first finished the Mid Star I put a Super Tigre 51 in it. It was total over kill and I had problems with the engine until I worked out that it needed a new plug so I then put a Saito 62 in it. This was good but a bit overpowered. Eventually I put an OS 52 Surpass four stroke in it and it worked well. Then later I put an Irvine 40 diesel in it for a diesel meet and it is still in it though I have not flown it for a while.

I also have the 60 and 120 size versions of the Four Star and I must say I prefer them to the smaller 40 version as they are more stable and less thrown around by our rather turbulent site.

The Mid Star may also be better to mount a battery in with the wing access at the top but you would be better in either case building a hatch for battery access.

They are both easy to build and the kits and instructions are really good.