Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Film Coverings

Hi all. Can anyone give me a brief primer on the different kinds of coverings that are applied to large airplanes? I have some experience with Monokote, but what are the alternatives, especially those that can be applied at low temperatures?

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Film Coverings

Ultrakote, Solartex or any of the TEX. The TEX covering is fabric and I use it often for scale planes where plastic looks wrong. Ultra goes on at a much lower temp then Mono and shrinks a lot better. I have even used it on foam wings without problems.
    Drinking and driving are illegal, why do bars have parking lots
    Daisy Air Guns, keeping kids off your lawn for 100 years

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

There is also Econokote which is a low temperature polyester film. It's not as thick as Monokote.

Then there is Coverite which is also a fabric that is ironed on and heat shrunk. It can be painted easily and looks like silk.

Frank
    AMA #5810
    CPA # 73
    Contest Director
    AMA Introductory Flight Instructor

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

LARGE planes?

Silk and dope, or dacron and dope.
    Local fabric stores carry the cloth if you can't find a better price off the internet.
    WHO GUNNA FEED MAW KEEEIDS..???

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Coverite makes a film as well as a fabric. Sometimes I think I'm the only person who uses it. Goes on well (somewhat like Ultracote).
    Al Gunn
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood No. 9

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models