Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Film Coverings

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Film Coverings

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 11:29 AM
TiptoTail

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Film Coverings

Hi all. Can anyone give me a brief primer on the different kinds of coverings that are applied to large airplanes? I have some experience with Monokote, but what are the alternatives, especially those that can be applied at low temperatures?
Old 10-03-2012, 12:32 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Film Coverings

Ultrakote, Solartex or any of the TEX. The TEX covering is fabric and I use it often for scale planes where plastic looks wrong. Ultra goes on at a much lower temp then Mono and shrinks a lot better. I have even used it on foam wings without problems.
Old 10-03-2012, 02:09 PM
countilaw

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There is also Econokote which is a low temperature polyester film. It's not as thick as Monokote.

Then there is Coverite which is also a fabric that is ironed on and heat shrunk. It can be painted easily and looks like silk.

Frank
Old 10-03-2012, 06:10 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

LARGE planes?

Silk and dope, or dacron and dope.
Local fabric stores carry the cloth if you can't find a better price off the internet.
Old 10-04-2012, 04:16 AM
Top_Gunn
My Feedback: (6)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Coverite makes a film as well as a fabric. Sometimes I think I'm the only person who uses it. Goes on well (somewhat like Ultracote).
Old 10-04-2012, 04:19 AM
mike109

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

G'day