Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 18 of 18

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Huntington, IN
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Throttle Linkage ?'s

    I have a DU-BRO - Control Over-Ride Servo Saver and I want to use it on the flexible cable for the throttle servo. Question is at the carb, do I use a metal solder link right to the cable and then connect to the carb or do I use a solder threaded coupler soldered to the cable and then the nylon link? Or does it matter? I should be able to adjust the throttle cable at the servo if I use this Control Over-Ride attachment, right? I'm new to this but it looks like the cable slides right through and can be adjusted at the servo..?

    Here's the servo part I'm talking about


    Thanks for any advice, I appreciate it !


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Attunga NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,256
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    G'day Mate,
    Don't waste your time, if your radio has end point or servo travel adjust, different brand radio's call them different names, but they are both the same thing.
    Use a ball link at the throttle arm Dubro number 190, & a E/Z connector Dubro Number 121 at the servo.
    And set it up using the attached instructions & you can't go wrong.

    Cheers
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Good Flyin Mate. Keep Thyne Airspeed up, lest the ground arise & smite thee,
    Allan.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Huntington, IN
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    I don't have a Tx yet. Thinking it's gonna be the Spektrum DX8 though or maybe the DX7 ?

  4. #4
    Charlie P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Port Crane, NY
    Posts
    4,732

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    I like those servo savers for steerable nose gear at our rough dirt & grass clump field, but it's WAY overcomplicated for a throttle and will delay response.  With flexible cables I like to solder a threaded stud on the end and then attach a clevis.  If it is a Nylon inner "cable" thread in a threaded stud.
    Charlie P. (NY) "Gravity is weak but persistant".

    AMA 747089/IMAA 30723

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    4,568
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    That servo saver is for saving your gear train from sudden bumps. They can be handy for a nosewheel if you fly on a rough surface, but that's is for planes.
    No kid, I said break ground and fly into the wind!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Huntington, IN
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    Hmmm.. Guy at the LHS told me to put that on my throttle?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Attunga NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,256
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s


    ORIGINAL: BillinIndiana

    *Hmmm.. Guy at the LHS told me to put that on my throttle?

    G'day Bill,
    It's his job to sell you stuff, whether you need it or not.
    Do yourself a GIANT favour, & find a club near you, go there & talk to the members, they will welcome you
    with open arms & be extremely helpful as well.
    As I have said many times before, on this forum, A club visit can teach you more in 5 minutes, than you can learn in a month on here.
    Take your plane with you, listen & learn.

    Cheers
    Good Flyin Mate. Keep Thyne Airspeed up, lest the ground arise & smite thee,
    Allan.

  8. #8
    Charlie P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Port Crane, NY
    Posts
    4,732

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    Has he ever flown a model airplane?

    Or, would he rather sell a $2.15 servo saver or tell you to use a free "Z" bend.
    Charlie P. (NY) "Gravity is weak but persistant".

    AMA 747089/IMAA 30723

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Huntington, IN
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    Tower Hobbies Tech Notes on this part... Says it's for the throttle also


    www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P




  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    4,568
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    It can be for anything, but you don't need it. What you do need is a solid, consistent connection to the throttle and your endpoints adjusted properly on your radio. The only value in putting that thing on your throttle cable is if you simply couldn't be bothered to make sure your servo wasn't binding on the throttle it would probably save it from burning up. I don't even bother with a flex cable on mine. I run a 2-56 wire from the servo with a Z-bend at the servo end and a plastic clevis on the throttle end. I try to get the Z-bend as close as I can and then adjust the length I need with the clevis. I like to run a tube through the fuel tank area for it to slide in so I can be sure that it doesn't rub, and I put a zip tie as the clevis keeper instead of a piece of fuel tubing so that it doesn't split after a while. This is the most reliable and simple to set up connection you can possibly have. A few planes need a flex cable if there's a weird angle from the servo to the throttle, but that's not all that common. Even then, the same type of connection works just fine- a soldered clevis on one end and a threaded clevis on the other.
    No kid, I said break ground and fly into the wind!

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Reedsburg, WI
    Posts
    511
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    They are for the throttle servo on a rc car. That servo also handles the brake, your carb arm would not allow your servo to get past the idle position with a fixed linkage.
    A stronger version is mostly used on the steering servo, to prevent it from shocks.

    They can also be used on airplanes with nosewheels, but most planes (servos) do fine without the servo saver.

    No need for this on a plane throttle. Just a source of failure and no benefits to it. Your radio will likely have an end point or throw adjustment. Works great

  12. #12
    JohnBuckner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kingman, AZ
    Posts
    9,058
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    Those things just like everyone here has hinted at will only cost you lost time at the field in screwing with them. They are not needed actually for steering servos or throttles on airplanes, Its money that only will cost you more in frustration.

    Now yes they may help with the steering on some rc cars but who is talking about cars?

    Also over dependance on what some clerk tells you unless you know them to be practicing airplane folks, is always suspect as the true airplane/flyer/enthusiast/store keeper is rapidly becoming a thing of the past and almost all shops these days have lots of 'Car' experts but virtually no one that knows the differance between a controlline or RC airplane.

    I also wish to support the responders here who have urged that the people you need to listen to the most are your real live fellow club mates and mentors.

    Those things are right up there with power panels as the most useless purchases fostered off on new folks flying glow airplanes these days. Oh man there goes that Opinion Thing agine

    John
    \"Keep your controllines tight\"

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Over da rainbow, KS
    Posts
    4,791
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    I use a ball socket(Dubro part with 2-56 stud) on the carburator arm because the motion of the arm is usually not planer with the control cable after it goes around the tank. On the other end, I use a short piece of 1/16 music wire and couple it to the cable with a simple wheel collar. This makes final adjustment very easy, plus the mass of the collar tends to filter high frequency vibration from the servo. As far as a servo saver ( useful for the nose gear pushrod), a simple "V" bend in the pushrod will protect the servo's gear train. Pictures in the following discussion:

    http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_83...tm.htm#8395012
    - Supplementary insipid innocuous inane vacuous proclamation

  14. #14
    carrellh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    6,544
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    I wrote the comments on the picture
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca83035.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	1811090  
    - Carrell

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,348
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    Hi!
    Silver solder as above is just ordinary sweet solder but much stronger.I's called "Sray-Brite" and is sold by Great Planes. An ordinary 50W-80W soldering iron of good quality is used.
    You can also use ordinary sweet solder made for electronics ...or whatever.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ge96764.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	43.3 KB 
ID:	1811091  
    Jan Karlsson - Supplier MVVS Products

  16. #16
    drac1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    442
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    My throttle linkage method is to use, 1/32" piano wire for the push rod. Micro EZ connector on the servo arm. Ball link on the throttle arm with the brass connector soldered to the piano wire.

    Run the push rod in a piece of plastic tube about 2-2.5mm larger id than the push rod.

    Works flawlessly on my 40 size trainers to 2m pattern ships.

    Regards
    Scott
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ge96182.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	87.6 KB 
ID:	1811384   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dy78477.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	101.9 KB 
ID:	1811385  
    There is no such thing as too much power.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Capron, IL
    Posts
    2,891
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s

    If you are using a throttle cable, use one of those set screw connectors that you see in that picture on the carb link. Solder the end of the throttle cable and insert it in the connector. Set your throttle end points, which is easily done on a DX8(I have one), and your done.   I use this setup on all my 4 strokes and never had a problem, no fancy bends and backwards facing links.
    SIG Brotherhood # 3
    Mustang Brotherhood # 6
    Corsair Brotherhood # 86
    Kadet Brotherhood # 24
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/B-17e-...18159428244374

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Huntington, IN
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle Linkage ?'s


    ORIGINAL: acdii

    If you are using a throttle cable, use one of those set screw connectors that you see in that picture on the carb link. Solder the end of the throttle cable and insert it in the connector. Set your throttle end points, which is easily done on a DX8(I have one), and your done. I use this setup on all my 4 strokes and never had a problem, no fancy bends and backwards facing links.
    I've never mounted a cowl before, I'm not that far with my 1st kit, but will I still be able to get to the set screw once it's mounted?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.