Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

New Alpha 40 Prop Problem

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

New Alpha 40 Prop Problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2013, 05:25 PM
smitdoshi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Alpha 40 Prop Problem

Hello,
I am new to RC Community and just picked up my first RC Plane.
I got the Hanger 9 Alpha 40 after reading reviews and suggestions.

I got everything ready and when i turn on my Plane or try to my Prop comes off the plane and goes flying.

I have followed all the instructions from the manual (see link page 12) http://www.horizonhobby.com/pdf/HAN4400-Manual.pdf
I have tightened the screw as much as i can but when the engine is just about to turn on the prop goes flying. The NUT comes off completely
and i no longer know what to do.
Any suggestion??
i did notice the Nut is not threaded or anything not sure if that makes a difference?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You

Old 02-09-2013, 05:52 PM
jetmech05

Default RE: New Alpha 40 Prop Problem

Heres how the prop should be assembled. spinner back plate, prop, thrust washer, nut. spinner...the nut should have threads and so should the end of the crankshaft. tighten the nut by using a wrench, not a glow plug 4 way, until it hurts your hand from holding the prop
Old 02-09-2013, 05:58 PM
smitdoshi

Thank You for that, Those are the same steps i took to install it
Unfortunately the Nut that goes after the Washer does not have threads. This Nut came with the plane but not sure what i should do now??
should i try to find another Nut that has threads?
Thanks
Old 02-09-2013, 06:03 PM
jetmech05

sure as long as it is the same threads....and hardness do you have a local hobby shop nearby? they might have what you need or someone at your field
Old 02-09-2013, 06:06 PM
smitdoshi

I do, ill try going there tomorrow and see if they have anything for me.