Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Foam Glider conversion Tutorial

Old 06-18-2013, 02:43 PM
teknicali

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Foam Glider conversion Tutorial

Hello everyone,
I have been scouring the web looking for a step by step tutorial on how to convert a foam glider into an Rc. I am a complete beginner, but my son and I really enjoy watching them fly when we can. It’s really windy where I live and people do not get to fly them often. I bought a harbor freight p51 mustang and it lasted a whole of 2 min before I crashed and broke it. I salvaged the parts from it, and wanted to transplant them into a glider, but my problem is I cannot find a tutorial on how to do this. I find plenty of people showing off their conversions but no real step by step. Also it seems like the front propeller is not a popular type of plane. I know the very basics of flight controls, and am pretty mechanically inclined. Is there anyone that can help me by either teaching me how to do this step by step or point me, and everyone else that might bein the same predicament as me in the future,in the right direction please. I need to learn everything to finding the balance points to how to properly install the components so that it doesn’t get too nose or tail heavy. I want to be able to build a simple glider plane from the ones at the dollar store or the air hogs glider (preferably the dollar store one because i know i am going to be breaking alot of them). It does not have to go very fast or even that high I just want to “learn by doing” and want to be able to spend some quality time with my son building them. Again please remember I am a complete beginner so use laments terms please. I have knowledge of the components, because I have been repairing operating and repairing scales rc truggies for a couple of years now. So I know what transmitters, receivers, batteries, and servos are but besides that I am a total noob to any rc that flies.