Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

A Beginners Thoughts on AS3X and Self Training

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

A Beginners Thoughts on AS3X and Self Training

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2013, 12:35 PM
Stormrider51

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Beginners Thoughts on AS3X and Self Training

I've been flying RC for about 3 months so everything I say should be taken with a grain of salt. I'm also someone who did what a few pilots with much more experience said couldn't be done. I taught myself to fly successfully. I did so by using one of the better simulators (Phoenix 4) and using it to its best advantage. I spent at least 20 hours "flying" the simulated version of the plane I had purchased, an Apprentice 15e. It did not have the SAFE system. I took the time to change the weather settings so that I was flying in higher winds and different wind directions. In other words, I tried to make it as realistic as possible. It must have worked because I still have the Apprentice although it doesn't get flown much.

What does get flown are my ultra-micro planes that have AS3X (Aritficial Stabilization 3 Axis) and that's really the subject of this post. I'm hoping that my experience can keep someone else from crashing their new plane. I went from the Apprentice to a micro Champ and J-3 Cub. Then I moved on to a 44" wingspan model of the WW-I British S.E. 5a fighter and one of its German opponents the Albatros D5a. Both are great flying planes. But my lifelong dream has been to fly the British Spitfire and wouldn't you know it, my LHS had one in stock. It was the PZ ultra-micro version of the Spitfire Mk-9 and included the AS3X system. It said "Just Fly" on the box. The model is highly detailed and beautiful so it went home with me. In the weeks since I've added the UMX Carbon Cub, P-40 Warhawk, and P-51 Mustang. All have the AS3X.