Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Aviation Club at School - Aircraft

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Aviation Club at School - Aircraft

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2014, 02:30 PM
Panady

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aviation Club at School - Aircraft

Hi all,

I'm a teacher at a middle school and run an after school aviation club. I'm a private pilot and have flown RC aircraft in the past. My school is wiling to purchase some RC airplanes for my club. I'm looking at electric and foam construction but would like to hear any aircraft recommendations you may have. My students have been actively practicing on the Real Flight simulator and I think some of them will transfer over nicely.

As of right now this series of airplanes seem appealing.

http://www.parkflyers.com/P51_D_Mustang_30_p/811.htm

Thanks
Old 05-19-2014, 04:06 PM
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (108)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

While not as sporty looking as a Mustang, you need to find planes that are intended to be a trainer. These are typically high wing planes with a tricycle landing gear. The golden rule is that a trainer never looks real well and is a plane that you wont fall in love with, but she always is ready to fly. You might try Tower Hobbies for some suggestions. The Mustangs come later. If you want the kids to really enjoy the sport have them build a plane. You can get a Great Planes Trainer 20 or 40 and build and cover it. They are designed for nitro motors but can be converted to electric. Just a thought and Good Luck Dave
Old 05-19-2014, 04:48 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Panady
Hi all,