Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Oh My not another new guy

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Oh My not another new guy

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2014, 09:48 AM
stsguy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oh My not another new guy

I was given a used balsa wood bi plane that sez ultimate on the side it has about a 36 inch wing span and has 1 of servos still on the plane. The h55 hitec I'm guessing is a micro. I'm looking to install a esc , servos and I'm questing about a 36 compatible out runner. 3 being over 11 volts would fry the 4 volt servos so I think a bec will be needed. I know what a BEC is and what it does but have never used one before. I race 5th scale dirt oval cars with 2 stroke hp motors so I have some knowledge of rc's and the way things work but electric airplanes loose me with all the choices. Being my 1st plane I plan on a very short existence for this plane so low 3rd parts are ok but I would rather be over powered than under......
I currently use the airtronics m11 for my surface racing but a few guys have said the 2.4 may not be as good as the FM 75 mhz systems. As I bang my head on the wall pl3ase lend this bone head a helping hand. I also have a Jr cub on the way to train with and I picked up a trashed dynam 4 channel.foam for parts it has a 1200 kv out runner and a esc with no writing on it.
Old 06-25-2014, 05:02 AM
Gizmo-RCU
My Feedback: (27)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This Ultimate is not a beginners airplane. Stay with 2.4, tried and true and easy to obtain. Stay away from other peoples junk, usually unreliable unless you really check it out.
The cub should work well as a trainer altho not as well as some real trainers designed for that purpose.
Often first timers tend to get a little ahead of themselves and obtain "stuff" that it turns out they don't need. I did! (still do).
Keep it simple and have fun.
Old 06-25-2014, 05:38 AM
jester_s1