Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Working on my first build... How do I attach this prop to this motor?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Working on my first build... How do I attach this prop to this motor?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2015, 10:06 PM
dgrams2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Working on my first build... How do I attach this prop to this motor?

Okay, so I will start by saying that I am really new to the whole RC Plane hobby... And that is why this is getting posted in the Beginners section.

So I'm about 3/4 of the way through my first build and I'm up to working on the motor.
I have this motor http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/uav-b...14-1400kv.html

And a 8*4.5 prop is going on this motor.

See picture of the parts that I have for the items.
Tried doing some google searches on how to attach the prop to the brushless motor.
I found a few things, but nothing that really followed the parts that I have.

From what I can tell, The prop should slide over the top of the motor and then possibly use a rubber band to attach to the screws on the motor?

So, then I have the following questions:
1) The hole in my props does not fit over the shaft on the motor. Seems close, but I just cant get it on. Is it supposed to be a super tight fit that I would need to force it on? I wouldn't think so.
2) What are the plastic attachments that come with the prop? Are these used in certain cases with certain motors?
3) Are my parts somehow incompatible? Are there things to look for when fitting props to motors?

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	278
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	2075055  
Old 02-21-2015, 01:27 PM
dgrams2000

I think I bought the motor without knowing what I was asking for. From what I have deducted so far, I need a motor with a shaft.