Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First RC Plane Upgrade

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First RC Plane Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2015, 08:40 PM
BleepBloopBlop

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question First RC Plane Upgrade

I have been using my HobbyZone Champ for a while and am thinking of an upgrade. I was wondering if a warbird (I was thinking Durafly P-51) would be too advanced and i should take a smaller step to possibly the E-Flite Apprentice S 15e. If the Apprentice is no good what would be the next step after the HobbyZone Champ? Thanks!
Old 03-25-2015, 05:52 AM
skylark-flier

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

I'm no expert but, having looked at the Hobbyzone site and both planes, IMHO you're thinking the exact right plane with the Apprentice as a #2. Once familiar with that (especially being that it's a larger and more "flyable" plane) you'll probably be ready for something like a P51 as a #3.
Old 03-25-2015, 06:32 AM
BleepBloopBlop

Originally Posted by skylark-flier
I'm no expert but, having looked at the Hobbyzone site and both planes, IMHO you're thinking the exact right plane with the Apprentice as a #2. Once familiar with that (especially being that it's a larger and more "flyable" plane) you'll probably be ready for something like a P51 as a #3.
Yeah, I think I'll get the Apprentice with SAFE next. Thanks so much for your imput!
Old 03-26-2015, 06:18 AM
skylark-flier

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Only thing I'd really recommend is that you fly the Apprentice until you're totally comfy with it, then unhook the SAFE system and fly it until it's WELL WITHIN your comfort zone. At about that point, when you're actually getting to the point that it's totally routine to fly and you know every little quirk - then, you're ready for that P51, or nearly any other plane.