Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

2nd Rc Planes Suggestion

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

2nd Rc Planes Suggestion

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2015, 10:46 PM
vtminh1993

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2nd Rc Planes Suggestion

Hi all,

I am pretty new to this hobby, and sure it is an expensive hobby (but it's fun). So I have been flying a duet for a week or so and I am pretty good with it. I do played quite a few video games so learning how to fly this thing is a breeze, and I think it's time for me to go to the next level. But of course being new to this, I still have a lot of things to learn so I am posting my question here so you experts can a newbie out Here is my plan:

1. Getting a Turnigy TGY-i6 Tx and Rx from hobby king.

2. Get a PnF 4 channel plane. I have not decided on which one I am getting yet, but probably I will get a micro electric that's under $100. I will probably still crash it now and then so I think just go cheap for now is good enough. I will move up to a more expensive airplane later on.

So now here comes the question: From what I have seen, the receiver comes with the i6 is fairly large for a micro rc planes so I don't know if it is going to work. Do I need to buy a normal size airplane to use the Tx and the Rx? I have been doing some research but no luck yet on this matter. Also, I was thinking about picking up a Dx6i to use it with Phoenix RC Simulator but it is a bit out of my budget right now. I'd like to ask if there is any alternative for the i6 that works with the simulator (doesn't have to be Phoenix)?

Thanks a lot for your time!
Old 05-04-2015, 01:53 PM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

The DX6i or a similar transmitter is a good investment if you plan to go beyond the beginner planes. Save your quarters for another month or two and get a better transmitter.