Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Engine for Phoenix Boomerang 60 MK2 Trainer

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Engine for Phoenix Boomerang 60 MK2 Trainer

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2015, 02:16 PM
MGJ01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine for Phoenix Boomerang 60 MK2 Trainer

Hi guys,

Just wanted to get your feedback on a couple of engines for my Phoenix Boomerang 60 MK2 trainer. I have been looking at the OS 55AX and Evolution 60NX.

I understand the manual asks for a .60 size 2 stroke or .90 four stroke and was wondering if the OS 55AX would be enough to power this plane and how it would fly? I am a beginner and have joined a local club and want a slow flying plane to build my confidence. I have a foam trainer which I fly at the moment and like the gentle characteristics of it.

Has anyone had any experience with these engines in this plane? Will they fit straight into the engine mount supplied with the plane?

Appreciate your feedback

Thanks
Old 09-23-2015, 03:19 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Hi MG welcome to the forum. I have and currently use quite a few examples of the 55AX and use them in an eclectic variety of airplanes including one I am just finishing up as we speak. Its one of my favorites.

I have no direct connection with your Boomerang Sixty trainer since they are not marketed as such in my country. However I believe it to be a fairly typical and generic sixty traner so of your choices I beleve the 55AX would be my go to engine for that airplane and it certainly not going to give up any power to the evolution.

John
Old 09-23-2015, 07:07 PM
MGJ01

Hi John,

Thanks for your feedback. The Boomerang is just your standard 60 size trainer with a wingspan of 1900mm from memory.

I have also had others say go with a bigger engine OS 65AX to future proof myself, what do you think about this? Would the 65 over power the model for a beginner?