Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

controld question for rc

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

controld question for rc

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2016, 10:13 AM
jayseas

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default controld question for rc

Novice here.If building a small rc aircraft, what two control surfaces should I use? Elevator and rudder?For eez of flying?
Old 02-12-2016, 10:23 AM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)

That is a question that is impossible to answer without having a ton in information. For instance, what size is the plane? How much experience do you have building? What is your level of expertise in flying? Will the aircraft be throttled? But the simple answer is if you are limited to only two control surfaces, it would be rudder and elevator. Now tell us what it its you are attempting to do and there will be many folks who will be willing to enter into a discussion. Your question, is it is, is simply too vague to answer.
Old 02-12-2016, 01:29 PM
Rodney

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Way back when (1940/1950 era) rudder only was most common the some found a way to incorporate throttle control and there were lots of rudder/throttle only flights. Right now I'd suggest rudder and elevator to be most appropriate.
Old 02-13-2016, 07:09 AM
jetmech05

I've taught many folks to fly. Learn to fly the way you intend to fly. In other words if you want to have ailerons, rudder, elevators, and throttle. Then get a 4 channel trainer and learn to fly only once.
its not easier to start with 2 channels then move to 4.
One of my hardest students was a glider pilot, no throttle or ailerons. He had to relearn with the other 2 channels.
but if you only want 2 for what ever reason the rudder elevators
Old 02-13-2016, 05:04 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by jayseas