Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Empty, Flat Desert

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Empty, Flat Desert

Old 08-31-2016, 04:44 PM
Athenas Dad

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Empty, Flat Desert

I live in New Hampshire where open fly land is hard to come buy. I do not wish to join a club because I am self taught, and dont believe I can benefit from them, so I always try to find my own space. When I research our hobby, all you guy's that live in the desert, large flat lands etc, dont have to worry about tree's, fences, and people next to you. I guess what I am saying is, I wish I could push it to the max ! ..........I guess I'm a little jealous.......
Old 08-31-2016, 04:53 PM
buzzard bait

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I am self-taught and flew for many years by myself. Then I joined a club and I enjoy chewing the fat with other modelers and seeing what they fly. Plus we have a club flying field; all my old haunts where I flew by myself are now dog parks, nature preserves, etc. So I'm happy to have a spot. Yes, I pay for AMA, but these days legislators are all hot to regulate drones, so I recognize the need to have an organization on our side. I still wind up flying alone about half the time, because on a lot of good days no one is at the field. Anyway, suit yourself and have fun.

Jim
Old 08-31-2016, 05:02 PM
52larry52
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Quote "don't believe I can benefit from them.", sounds like you could benefit by having a good place to fly! Plus you always learn things from your fellow flyers and even make new friends. Your reasons for going it alone are flawed. If you are flying alone with aircraft powered by more than a rubber band and your finger finds the spinning prop you will wish you had some help. If there is a going club with a nice RC field in your area you are missing the boat, rethink it. The best to you.
Old 09-01-2016, 04:08 AM
TomCrump