Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

SIG Kadet Senior for first plane?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

SIG Kadet Senior for first plane?

Old 01-09-2017, 09:25 AM
LXbuilder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SIG Kadet Senior for first plane?

Hi folks, I'm new to the pages and have been thinking about getting into RC flying. I gave it a try 37 years ago with limited success (really didn't go about it the correct way, but hey I was young), now older and marginally wiser I've been thinking about getting a Kadet Senior kit as I like the building part of the hobby.
I have read in numerous places that this plane is a gentle flier and works well as a first trainer.

My concerns would be converting to ailerons and possibly building with a two piece wing as I would need to invest in a trailer otherwise. (don't think the full wing is going in my Dodge Charger)

Any thoughts on my "game plan" and also whether I should go 4 stroke over 2 stroke for a first plane, by experienced flyers would be appreciated, thanks.
Old 01-09-2017, 10:11 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

Welcome to the forum. You should be able to get that wing into your car. If you let the passenger seat down it can go diagonally, or if the back seats will fold down and give you truck access it could work that way.

Engine choice-2 strokes are a little easier to tune and generally have fewer things to go wrong with them.

For ailerons, you just build the wing and then cut them out. Then make a leading and trailing edge for them so you can install the hinges.
Old 01-09-2017, 11:30 AM
RBACONS
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts