Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Hey all, lost my first plane today.

Old 06-13-2018, 06:02 PM
CFinn

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hey all, lost my first plane today.

hello fellow flyers.

bought a t-28 Trojan micro plane last week had about 10 flights on it, brand new still but a few small dings. Could not believe I lost it. I feel like such a noob. And yes I am still new to the hobby. I learned back in April to avoid trees at all costs after getting my sport cub stuck in one, and light poles and mailboxes, etc.

but was getting a bit overconfident, went to bank it around for a final approach today and lost line of sight behind the one tree that was in the way should have been a 3 sec timeframe but the plane never reappeared. So I jogged off to the ortherside of the tree, didnít see it, then back again to the other side of the tree and it was gone..gone gone gone.. it didnít hit the tree it was just blocking my view.

i did have safe mode active since it was a new plane. Gave it a bit of up elevator and started banking it to the right even though I had no idea where it was. Did this while I was scrambling to find it. Two minutes later I gave up. Then I spend an hour and a half walking around the residential area I live in, then the bean field, then the corn field, then in the car retracing the area....very bummed.

the area outside my house isnít perfect for flying but I have a corn/bean field across the road and usually keep it out their but it was a landing approach run. Whitch mean I have to bring it in to land in a tighter area and of course it was downwind when I lost it. (I was turning it into the wind).

anybody ever find a plane after losing it like that? What do you guys do when you lose sight of a plane? Any advice is welcomed. I wish I would have just plowed it into the ground now, having it disappear is the worst.
Old 06-14-2018, 08:19 PM
Hydro Junkie

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings