Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Need advice about servos

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Need advice about servos

Old 02-19-2019, 12:37 PM
Real2You

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Need advice about servos

Hello all,
First time on the airplane side of these forums. I'm building a Sig J-3 Cub 71" wingspan(first build of an airplane of this size).
The build is going good and as I get closer to completion I am wondering what are good servos to use. As a beginner I will just be doing basic flying.
I have been trying to read information about different servos but I thought I would get some real life advice. I think I will need 5 servos...any advice?
Thanks.
Old 02-19-2019, 01:44 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 175 Likes on 150 Posts

Just about any standard size servo with over 50oz should work just fine. I suggest a ball bearing servo as centering is a bit better. Of course your planned engine could change the requirement. I also run 6.6V LiFe batteries in just about everything. Any servo is only as good as the power you provide for it.
Old 02-19-2019, 03:33 PM
Real2You

Thanks! I was looking at the Futaba S3010's.....the price seems kind of cheap to me for a servo so I need to make sure I get something that is adequate.
Old 02-19-2019, 03:40 PM
RBACONS
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Those servos are more than adequate for that cub. You can use better servos but you probably won't notice any difference given the way cubs fly. Looks like 4 servos if you use an aileron bell crank or 5 if you use separate aileron servos (highly preferred). Get at least a 6V battery. Whether its NiMH, LIFE or LIPO is personal preference and what your charger is capable of handling.
Old 02-19-2019, 04:10 PM
Real2You

Thanks for the good information...I'll probably go with the 5 servos. Been using Lipos with my helicopters so I'll probably stick with those.
Old 02-19-2019, 05:20 PM
52larry52