Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

I want to get a Plane..Completly Lost.. Help?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

I want to get a Plane..Completly Lost.. Help?

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2004, 11:05 PM
radicooldude

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to get a Plane..Completly Lost.. Help?

Hey! I have been into R/C cars for 2 years, and I want to get into R/C planes. I have got a few questions so please bear with me.
1. First off Gas or Electric? I really don't know.. I have run only Elec R/C cars..so I have no experience with gas.
Please tell me the pros and cons of each:
2. Runtime? How long can I expect on gas? How about Electric?
3. Size? In gas terms how big? .20 .40 .60???? In electric? 380 400 480 540?
4. I want to fly in my backyard or in a park..but I don't want it to tute around.. I would like 30's to 40's.. Is that expectable?
5. Next I want to get a radio.. How many channels? FM or AM?
6. If electric, what size batts and what charger?
7. Last.. what Kit? I am 15 and for Christmas my parents want to get me into planes..so they said I have about $300 for everything.
Please give me links to products, like on Tower Hobbies..or so. Thanks for everything. - Zack
Old 01-20-2004, 11:14 PM
CafeenMan

Default RE: I want to get a Plane..Completly Lost.. Help?

ORIGINAL: radicooldude

Hey! I have been into R/C cars for 2 years, and I want to get into R/C planes. I have got a few questions so please bear with me.
1. First off Gas or Electric? I really don't know.. I have run only Elec R/C cars..so I have no experience with gas.
Personal preference. In most places you'll get more help with a glow engine plane. Electrics are still way in the minority.

2. Runtime? How long can I expect on gas? How about Electric?
10-15 minutes on glow, a little less on electric unless you buy more expensive batteries and equipment.