Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

MIX Rudder and Aileron

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

MIX Rudder and Aileron

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2004, 03:10 PM
hgiles
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MIX Rudder and Aileron

I was advised to mix some rudder in with my ailerons. Although I understand the concept, I have no idea how to implement this. Moreover, with all the talk of OPPOSITE RUDDER and ADVERSE YAW, I am not sure which rudder (opposite?) to mix in with Aileron or how much. Incidentally I am building an H9 J3 Cub (80") with a Saito 56. I have a Futaba 9CHP transmitter. Any set up advice is much appreciated. Yeah, I am a beginner and this is my first setup, but I have AFP on the computer to help me iron it all out and of course, I have the knowledge and experience of all you guys!!!

Thanks in Advance!
Old 02-13-2004, 03:20 PM
Crashem

Default RE: MIX Rudder and Aileron

Incidentally I am building an H9 J3 Cub (80" with a Saito 56)
I have the same plane with a OS .91 surpass in it.

The turns look better with the rudder mixed in.

I have used between a 15% and 20% rudder mix I think currently the mix is set a 18%

I didn't mix opposite rudder. remember you can turn the mix on and off in flight I would setup the mix climb to a safe height and try it out keep making adjustments untill you get a turn that looks good.

I also mixed 5%-10% down elevator in at full throtle to keep it from climbing. Have nothing but good things to say about that Cub only tricky part making it land just wants to fly and fly
Old 02-13-2004, 03:22 PM
siclick33

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You need to set up the mix on your transmitter. This is probably a standard setting (not requiring a programmed mix). If you decide that you do need this (it is not essential) then Aileron is set as the primary channel and rudder as the slave.