Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Is this good for a 8-year old ?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Is this good for a 8-year old ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2004, 11:15 AM
Prophex

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this good for a 8-year old ?

I've been mainly in heli's and my little brother likes to watch me fly so much that he wants something to fly for his own. And since heli's are just a little bit to difficult and to dangerous for kids, I was thinking of getting him a beginners electric RC airplane.

I came across [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/easystar.htm]this one[/link] at the hobby-lobby
Would this be any good for my 8 year old brother ?
And since I am also new to planes, what would you recommend ?

Thanks a lot,
Prophex
Old 05-01-2004, 05:45 PM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is this good for a 8-year old ?

It's not a plane that's very well known, but it "sounds" like it would be a decent choice. The "elapor" foam is like EPP, which is very resilient, so that part of it is great. 9.4 ounces on a Speed 400 is a great power to weight ratio too, so....

I honestly can't say for sure, but everything I read makes it sound like a good candidate.

If you decide to try it, please post the results here so others might benefit.
Dennis-
Old 05-01-2004, 05:46 PM
wings

There are some cheap planes at Walmart, have you looked at those?
Old 05-01-2004, 06:21 PM
FHHuber
Banned

[:'(] The cheapies at Wal-Mart are nowhere near the class of the one he's looking at.
The one n the ad appears to be a decent begnner's electric model. 3 channel planes tend to do well as long as the wing loading and power are decent. (looks good there.) The materials as mentioned look good too.