Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Depth Perception

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Depth Perception

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2002, 10:39 PM
RC_Chick

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Depth Perception

Hello,

I am relatively new to this hobby. I have been flying for about two months solid, and I have recently embarked upon solo flights. I am able to execute landings with nearly flawless precision, except for one area: depth perception. The north end of our runway is flanked with a dense line of trees, and it becomes difficult to tell how far out your plane is when you are attempting a landing.

I was curious as to whether there is a trick that can be used to tell how far out your plane is (before it smashes into a tree or suffers some similar – yet disastrous - fate).

Thanks.
Old 07-19-2002, 10:55 PM
rc-sport
My Feedback: (12)

Default Depth Perception

If the suns right I use the shadow of the plane on the trees at our field
Old 07-19-2002, 11:11 PM
BingoFlyer

Default Depth Perception

RC_CHICK

I hope you get a good answer, I need the same kind of help. I lost an eye in an auto accident and am having a lot of trouble with this. I am usually just at the far side of the runway seldom on it, I set the plane up so that (to me) to would appear that it is headed right at me and I still land in the grass about ten feet off the runway.
Old 07-20-2002, 01:54 AM
jmulder
My Feedback: (6)

Default Depth Perception

I just aim it at me like I'm gonna hit myself, but when you get close to the runway you just straighten up just a wee little bit and it will perfect every time...............
Old 07-20-2002, 03:04 AM
Dave Barrow-RCU

Default Depth Perception