Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First Plane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First Plane

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2002, 02:39 PM
dbow
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Plane

I have been reading around a bit and was wondering if some of you guys could answer a couple of questions.

I am not new to R/C, been racing gas cars for a few years, but I am new to the planes.

I currently have my eyeball on the Tower Trainer 40 ARF. I have read time and time again that its a good starter plane. The kit directions look very good and seem to take care of most of my questions.

I have not however been able to find a definitive answer on prop size for the O.S .46 FX that I plan to put in.
I have read that a wood 10x6 would be good prop to start with.

Is this true?
other opinions?

Anything you guys could tell me about the tower Trainer 40, the O.S .46fx and props would be appreciated.

As well what size servos should I use with this kit?

Thanks,

Dbow
Old 07-27-2002, 03:30 PM
chris100

Default First Plane

I used to have a tower trainer. It is very docile and perfect for a beginner. I used standard futaba 3003 servos in it. As far as props go, a 10*6 is a good starting place for the engine. You might also try a 10*7, 11*6 and 11*5. Master Airscrew plastic props are good to learn with as they tend to not break as easily on not so perfect landings. Once you get landing down pat try out the APC brand props. They are stiffer props and wont flex in the air, giving you better performance.

Chris
Old 07-27-2002, 04:20 PM
tazzdevl1

Default First Plane

I have a Tower Trainer now with a 40LA. This plane is very easy to learn on. The LA is a bit slower than the FX would be. I wish I had gone with the FX to start with. Good luck!!

Cliff
Old 07-27-2002, 04:45 PM
dbow

Default First Plane

Thanks for the info Chris.