Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

New to RC airplanes

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

New to RC airplanes

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2002, 05:30 PM
TigerEye

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC airplanes

Hi im new to flying RC airplanes, I have a Graupner Mini Piper, have you tred this?? I hear they fly well and are good for beginners. Also i have two very large feilds near my house, will these do well for flying or do you have to go fly in specified areas. These feilds are open areas and ussually have no people in sight. Also is there any links that list all the clubs in the US. Im thinking of joining a club. Any ideas or suggestion for my first flights would also be appriciated. Thx
Old 08-20-2002, 06:02 PM
mgmoore7
My Feedback: (5)

Default Join a Club

As most other threads with similar questions, I suggest that you join a club and get an instructor before you go any further. If you go and fly in one of those fields that are within range of one of the clubs that you know of then you may shoot down one of their planes or someone may shoot down your plane that is on the same frequency as you.
Old 08-20-2002, 06:27 PM
uonlylivetwice
My Feedback: (2)

What is the range, roughly? I just got to thinking, where I am moving is pretty close to a flying field, maybe three miles away. Is that too close to be turning on a tx at home?
Old 08-20-2002, 06:34 PM
Blackie

Its not wise to fly your plane without assistance. I have heard a lot of stories of beginners taking their planes up thinking they can fly but wind up telling us of there dilemma. The best thing to do is first get your AMA card then locate a field nearest to you with instructors. Your local hobby shop should have a list of locations.

Randy
Old 08-20-2002, 06:43 PM
C_Watkins
My Feedback: (10)

Default Tough question!

That's close enough that it would worry me, personally.