Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

What are all these screws on the engine for?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

What are all these screws on the engine for?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2002, 12:23 PM
Kotowicz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What are all these screws on the engine for?

Hello,

I'm completely new to this RC plane stuff. I've acquired my Dad's old High Wing Trainer. I do beleive it did fly once!

Anyway, the engine was all stuck so I took it apart and cleaned it. Put it back together and realised that I didn't take not of the adjustment screw positions....

Okay, it's a OS Max 35 FP (About 15 years old?) Theres a big screw which seems to adjust the fuel and two other screws (one vertical and one horizontal) attached to the air intake thingy.

What does each of these screws do?

I've had it running for about ten secs - kinda like this....

.....twenty minutes of prop turning and random screw fiddling - Engine starts and runs for ten secs. Adjust all the screws randomly (ofcourse! I'm a newbie!) and now I can't for the life of me get it fired up again.

I obivously need help (In more ways than one)

Cheers in advance
Old 08-26-2002, 12:33 PM
TerrellFlyer

Carry the engine to an r/c hobby shop or flying field and get some advice,wrong fuel or running engine to lean will ruin it,on screw is throttle stop,the other is probably low speed adj,or the screw that holds the carb in place
Have a goodun,John
Old 08-26-2002, 01:27 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

The big screw is indeed, fuel flow. Screw it all the way in, then back it out 3 or 4 turns. The other horizontal screw is probably low-end air adjustment. This will adjust the fuel mixture when at idle. The vretical screw is probably a throttle stop to regulate how much the barrel opens and closes.
Old 08-26-2002, 02:23 PM
A10FLYR
My Feedback: (1)