Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Another spinner question

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Another spinner question

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2005, 08:16 AM
M. Michael Meyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another spinner question

I am a newbie so if this is a "dumb" question, forgive me. I have a Sig Kadet LT-40. It came with a plastic spinner. My starter is really doing a number on the spinner. I am thinking about replacing the spinner and going with an aluminum spinner. First, is that a good idea? Second, will it do much to affect the CG on the airplane. Right now the plane is very well-balanced and I don't want to throw it off if I can help it. Third, what is the best aluminum spinner on the market? Fourth, are there any other products you would recommend?

As always, thanks for the help.
Old 06-27-2005, 08:21 AM
Dr1Driver

Default RE: Another spinner question

You can replace the spinner with an aluminum one. You can replace the spinner with an AMA Safety Nut and use the smaller hole in the cone. You can use more pressure on the starter against the spinner.

Dr.1
Old 06-27-2005, 08:26 AM
2slow2matter
My Feedback: (1)

Well, I thought you just had one "question."
Let me see if I can help:
1) Good idea? No--here's why. I wouldn't spend 45 dollars on a spinner for a trainer for a couple of reasons. Number one, it's going to add a lot of rotational mass that your little .40 sized engine will have to get turning--you'll loose power at the prop for no good reason. Number two, it's 45 dollars (approx). Spend that money on 3 gallons of fuel--you'll learn more from three gallons of fuel than you will from an aluminum spinner.