Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

VMAR/RichmondRC, I'm Kicking myself now

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

VMAR/RichmondRC, I'm Kicking myself now

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2005, 12:42 AM
cat250

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VMAR/RichmondRC, I'm Kicking myself now

You may remember the phrase "I'm Mad as H**L and I'm not gonna take it anymore"

Bare with me folks, I'm seething and wondering if I should even be typing now.

I'm a trainee with a great club with a variety of great instructors. My trainer is a H9 Alpha 40 with a GMS 40. I bought the plane at a later date than the engine. I am happy with the GMS 40 which I purchased from Richmond RC. So lets say I'm hooked on RC Glow flying and I have heard you should start constructing your second model the minute you finish your first. I thought based on the comments I read on RCU that I would transition from a flat bottom trainer to a high wing aerobatic trainer. I did my research and tried unsucessfully to buy a World Models WorldStar 40 but could not get a definitive date on delivery to the US distributor or a on-line HS. I ordered the plane anyway and eventually cancelled the order. Why I did not think to stay in the H9 family and buy the Arrow 40 is something I'm unsure about to this day. The Alpha 40 ARF is a quality plane with decent hardware and no construction snafus that a this beginner could see. Well I started my search for a Aerobatic trainer again and noticed a review on RCU of the VMAR/RichmondRC Hornet. Now I had already read plenty about poor quality and customer service from the MFG/Dist but this review seemed to indicate that VMAR/RichmondRC had learned from it's mistakes and the QC control was being improved. Reading a review is very nice but still Caveat Emptor should be the lesson for the day. The reviewer had a good experience with his plane so I liked the color scheme of the plane and the video on RCU showed a