Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Nexstar questions

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Nexstar questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2005, 04:17 PM
woosh
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nexstar questions

I am new to airplanes and I just got my Nexstar put together but I have a question about my controls. I have all the control rods installed (minus the servos) and I don't see how my servos could operate the elevator, tail rudder, and ailerons because there is so much friction in linkage. Is this a build problem or is there supposed to be friction in the control linkage.
Old 07-10-2005, 08:01 PM
DTB
My Feedback: (15)

Default RE: Nexstar questions

ORIGINAL: woosh

I am new to airplanes and I just got my Nexstar put together but I have a question about my controls. I have all the control rods installed (minus the servos) and I don't see how my servos could operate the elevator, tail rudder, and ailerons because there is so much friction in linkage. Is this a build problem or is there supposed to be friction in the control linkage.
Exactly how much friction is there. It should be nice and smooth in motion. Keep the rods in the correct plain when moving the push rods also. Keep them in the same location as if a servo is pushing or pulling on it. You can remove the rods to make sure that there is no bow in the rods and if so, use your abdomin to straigthen. Don't use your fingers as most would be tempted to. Surface area is too small. You stomach/chest area provides a better area to keep it straight. If you have to bend small sections, then your fingers can be used. The rods should be normally straight for the most part on this plane. I have taught many on the NextStar and never can across that problem. The most common problem is a lose motor mount and motor attachment.
Old 07-10-2005, 09:54 PM
captain_crash