Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Cowling Repair?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Cowling Repair?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2005, 09:11 PM
Piddler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cowling Repair?

I am new to the RC hobby and I have recently built a Piper Cherokee 40. I had an old 0S Max .40 FSR that I had side mounted on it. I took it to the flying field and determined it was not enough engine for the plane, this may have been due to the age of the engine. The plane wouldn't even think about taking off. Since then I have purchased a Thunder Tiger Pro 61 with a Pitts muffler included. The Pitts muffler is for an inverted mount. I could just side mount it also, enlarging the hole in the cowling and running the exhaust straight out the side, but I don't think It would look very good. I'm looking for suggestions for repairing the plastic cowling from the side mount. What should I use for backing? I have the plastic putty for filling, which was used for the original filling of the 2 piece cowling. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10305.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	302476   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn41759.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	302477  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:07 PM
horace315
My Feedback: (15)

Default RE: Cowling Repair?