Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Engine for 2nd Plane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Engine for 2nd Plane

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2005, 07:15 AM
BlackRider
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine for 2nd Plane

I'm just moving into my 2nd plane from my Nexstar trainer and I need some advice. I've decided to purchase the Futaba 9C radio for it as it will give me plenty of room to grow. But, I'm unsure of which engine to purchase. From advice at the airfield I'm looking at the Great Planes U Can Do .60 ARF. The engines that I'm looking at are the OS .61 FX, .91FX or the FS-91 II Surpass. Obviously as I'm still relatively new to the sport I'm not going to be doing to many stunts to begin with. I'm more interested in the slow flying characteristics now but will probably be looking to do stunts in the future. Should I begin with the .61FX or .91FX to begin with and save money? I'm also afraid to have to much engine for my overall skill level. When I'm ready I'll upgrade the engine in a year or so. Or would it be better to purchase the Surpass now? That way I know the engine won't be underpowered for the plane and I will have an engine that will last as long as the plane.

Any Advice you can give me would be appreciated. Thanks!
BR
Old 08-02-2005, 09:37 AM
plane_freek

Default RE: Engine for 2nd Plane

are you sure u wanta UCD 60 for your second plane? if you go backafew pages, there is a post on the UCD 6- as a second plane. Most people did not recommend it as a 2nd. If u want a nice second plane, the Goldberg Tiger 2 or Tiger 60 are good choices. I have the tiger 2 and i love it. It does rolls and loops nicely.
Old 08-02-2005, 09:44 AM
plane_freek

check on page 4 i believe, for the UCD post
Old 08-02-2005, 10:07 AM
Ed_Moorman
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Blackrider,