Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

a new guy to r c flying

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

a new guy to r c flying

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2006, 08:13 PM
letsbounce72

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a new guy to r c flying

i just bought a pt 40 a biginners air plane im building it,is there any advice to give me,do's and dont's ?? and what kind of radio should i buy? anykind of advice would be greatly appreciated
Old 01-20-2006, 09:11 PM
agexpert
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: a new guy to r c flying

Well,

This post will probably be relocated to the beginners forum, but let me say 'welcome' ...to the best hobby on the planet. I am a beginner too, on my third plane plane and counting, ( I actually have 7 planes and a couple of kits, but I fly 3 regularly).

1) Join AMA.

2) Join a club with free instruction (Almost all clubs offer free instruction or have a member who can teach).

3) Do Not try to fly without the aid of an instructor

4) If you can afford your own 'buddy box' get one...(It helped me to be set-up and ready to fly when my instructor was ready for me).

5) Practice on a simulator if you have one, (It's not going to teach you to fly, but it helps with moving the sticks in the right direction).

6) Wait to buy your radio until you see what is popular at your field, (Free advice is easier to get from people who are familiar with your equipment).

7) Don't go out and waste a bunch of money on field equipment until you see what you need.

8) Go to club meetings and participate in raffles and auctions to get GREAT prices on stuff you need/want.

9) HANG OUT at the field after your lessons and ask lots of questions, (You will find that, if you are interested, people will be almost too willing to give you advice).

10) Learn which guys/gals to listen to and which ones to just nod and smile at.

11) Did I mention...Get an instructor?