Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

glow v elec./ ford v chevy??

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

glow v elec./ ford v chevy??

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2006, 08:47 PM
1.25ton

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default glow v elec./ ford v chevy??

I'm new to the airplane world and was quite surprised the other day at a lhs. This shop will remain nameless because they do 99% of their buisness online and mail order. The fact that I was buying fuel line, a glow plug and fuel seemed apalling to the clerk. I was lectured that the glow fuel planes are dinosaurs and that I need to buy into the 21st century clean electric plane. I've got about eight hours buddy time in a kadet w/ 46ax and I like the smell of burning fuel!! Is this common salesperson b/s or am I going to take my plane through emmissions??
My toys will be powered by combustion; My work is fueled by electricity.
Old 03-27-2006, 08:51 PM
JPMacG
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: glow v elec./ ford v chevy??

You're fine. The salesperson was yanking your chain. Some of us like electric, some like glow. I spend my work day worrying about electrical circuits. I don't want to do more electrical work as a hobby.
Old 03-27-2006, 09:08 PM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Some people insist on convincing others that their way is the ONLY way. Sounds like you encountered one at the LHS. Ignore him, glow and gas planes don't appear to be going away any time soon. Use what you like best, that's what this hobby is about.
Old 03-27-2006, 09:18 PM
gjeffers

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

im thinking about getting a electric so i can just walk out to my driveway and have a quick fly when i cant go to the strip. but nothing will replace my smoketrail, i love it
Old 03-27-2006, 09:21 PM
TexasAirBoss
My Feedback: (22)

Sales persons in hobby shops are always trying to sell you what they have in stock instead of what you asked for.