Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Question: How many get past the first trainer?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Question: How many get past the first trainer?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2002, 08:25 PM
glowplugboy
My Feedback: (17)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question: How many get past the first trainer?

I have been flying R/C for over 25 years now, and vaguely remember my training sessions with THE trainer of the day, the Goldberg Falcon 56. I enjoy training students today, and overall, I believe the trainer designs are better for first time flyers. I have always been a little struck by how so many flyers, once soloed, never seem to advance beyond a trainer.

My question arrises out of this experience: I wonder how many novice pilots, once soloed, go beyond the trainer, and then to what level? I bet some of the kit mfgs. have some stats on trainer kits and arf trainers sold, and I wonder where it goes from there? Very open ended questions, but you thoughts, opinions?
Old 12-19-2002, 08:37 PM
Crashem

Thats an interesting question but since this is the beginners forum the responses might not be as numerous

Me personnally I've flown/Fly sport models low wing high wing shoulder wing but I always try to have a trainer in flyable condition.

As far as progressing in this hobby I think to much emphasis is placed (here and at the field) on moving to that "second" plane and alot of the modelers I've seen really haven't "mastered" the trainer yet but prouldly bring out that second plane and begin to develop bad flying habits...

My question to you is when does one "know" that its time for their second plane.. And please don't say after crashing the first
Old 12-19-2002, 08:55 PM
den1tjb