Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Firebird Freedom Assembly?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Firebird Freedom Assembly?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 10:40 PM
knwilson

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firebird Freedom Assembly?

Just got a new fuselage for my FBF and need some help with re-installing the "guts". I cannot seem to get the prop motor back in the slot and the holes lined up. Also, does anyone have or know where I can get a detailed pic of how the "ACT" connections should go, etc.......

Appreciate the help.

Kevin
Old 07-08-2006, 01:18 AM
JoeFriday

Default RE: Firebird Freedom Assembly?

I posted this on another freedom thread....

Ok. Let me start by saying that I am just starting out. And, it has been a somewhat painful but enjoyable experience so far. That leads me to this post.

I did a nose dive into the ground that was fast enough to crease the plastic and shove the engine forward in the cowling. It was quite a site with parts flying. Actually, I was very surprised that the plane did not completely disintegrate at the speed that it hit the ground, and after seeing this, I would say that this is a pretty durable plane.

Now to the tips. I was able to push the motor back and it probably would have flown, but I chose to replace the complete chassis for $20 to make sure she was completely airworthy. I would say that after going through the process, it was not overly difficult but it would have been helpful to have a few hints.

• You will need a very fine wire to thread the antenna back through the tail. I had a roll of basic copper wire that I stripped down and used one of the strands. It worked perfectly to pull the antenna back through the tail.
• Pay close attention to how the ACT sensors are connected to the circuit board. I did, and I was glad that I did. They will need to be disconnected when you remove the board from the chassis.