Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Crosswind Landings - Crab or side slip??

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Crosswind Landings - Crab or side slip??

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2006, 08:07 AM
schokshi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crosswind Landings - Crab or side slip??

Hi,
I am a student pilot. I've had about 10 takeoffs & landings so far in dead calm days. Last night I went flying in about 10-12 miles crosswind. I could not land a single time because plane will get drifted over runway & last time I went & hit nets in pit area.

I have not been using rudder so far for any of my flight because I am using LT-40. I have training with several instructors & never realized importance of learning to use rudder until yesterday. I knew that I have to learn to use rudder someday but was thinking I can solo first & learn to use rudder at my own time. I did not want to extend my solo any more than necessary.

Now I have determined to use rudder even if it means few more flights before solo. Can somebody please explain if I should crab or slip in crosswind conditions & how to do that. I generally understand that you crab into the wind but I assume because of dihedral on the wings, plane will actuall start turning.

Any help will be greatly appreciated....

Regards,
Sujit Chokshi

Old 06-15-2006, 08:20 AM
alan0899

Default RE: Crosswind Landings - Crab or side slip??

G'day Mate,
You must use opposite aileron to crab or sideslip to counteract the roll induced by the rudder.
Old 06-15-2006, 08:54 AM
bkdavy
My Feedback: (1)