Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

my first kit

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

my first kit

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2006, 05:07 PM
jerusha

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my first kit

i am planning on bulilding a nitro powered airplane and a wondering what kit i should build. i am not very good at flying. i would also like to know what all i would need to finish it i.e.(servos, motor, radio) i think that gas planes use batteries to run the servos but i am not shure. all my previous builds and airplanes have been electric. i am short on cash so anything that is sugested should not be too expensive.
Old 07-27-2006, 06:18 PM
Machinegun21

Default RE: my first kit

Well it depends on what your looking to build and how much time you have. a true kit will take you anywhere from 1-2 months to build and you will need an engine, all radio gear, and some building tools. an ARF or almost ready to fly plane will take you anywhere from 20-35 hours to complete and you need engine, radio gear, and building tools. an RTF or ready to fly plane will take you 20 minutes and you will not need as many tools. gas planes run off of fuel and the fuel runs the engine only. all the radio gear runs off a battery.
Old 07-28-2006, 12:25 AM
Safebet
My Feedback: (12)

Hi Jerusha:

From experience, I can tell you a kit is much more expensive in the long run than to just purchase a good
ARF.

I choose to build because I get great satisfaction out of it. But as Machinegun said: it is time consuming and purchasing everything you need item by item is costly. I am currently building a plane with 53" wingspan. Will have about $600.00 to $700.00 in it when I'm through. Could purchase a similar ARF for about $400.00, including motor and servos. It's expensive to build.

I really appreciate seeing the desire to build in someone who is rather new to the sport. It's encouraging. You can find