Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

4.8v or 6.0v rx battery power

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

4.8v or 6.0v rx battery power

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2007, 12:43 PM
cruzomatic
My Feedback: (17)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.8v or 6.0v rx battery power

I've been flying now for just over 6 years and just learned my flying buddy is flying with 6.0v rx battery packs. Am I missing something? I usually fly with 4.8v 1100mah Nicad or greater packs, sometimes 1400mah, especially for my retract planes. I've always been satisfied with my rx battery and servo performance.

Just wondering what you all use? Should I change over and why? I'm assuming the additional torque power and speed maybe?
Old 02-15-2007, 12:59 PM
fadi

Default RE: 4.8v or 6.0v rx battery power

6V gives you more power and faster servos. When you buy a servo, look at the pack the specs for each voltage is written on it.
This way you can get more torque from your standard sero instead of jumping to a high model...

I usually fly with a 4.8V, don't care much for the difference in performance is small.
Old 02-15-2007, 01:00 PM
bruce88123

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: cruzomatic

I've been flying now for just over 6 years and just learned my flying buddy is flying with 6.0v rx battery packs. Am I missing something? I usually fly with 4.8v 1100mah Nicad or greater packs, sometimes 1400mah, especially for my retract planes. I've always been satisfied with my rx battery and servo performance.

Just wondering what you all use? Should I change over and why? I'm assuming the additional torque power and speed maybe?