Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

How far into the fuel tank should the clunk go to?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

How far into the fuel tank should the clunk go to?

Old 03-13-2007, 09:31 AM
skaap2k

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How far into the fuel tank should the clunk go to?

Hi,

I know this may be a silly question, however I am a beginner, I have my fuel tank assembly (it did not come assembled) and I was wondering how far into the tank the clunk should extend into... first thoughts were that it should go as far in as possible, then thought set in, and made me wonder if it should sit around halfway or 3/4 of the way into the tank as it would have more access to fuel while it is tilted up or down during flight?

I understand the clunk can move around inside, but in a fairly small fuel tank, how well does it actually move?? In my dry tank it doesnt seem to move enough if the tank is pointing down...

Could someone with some experience let me know what their views on this are?

Thanks!

RN
Old 03-13-2007, 09:51 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: How far into the fuel tank should the clunk go to?

It needs to go as far back in the tank as it can, but not so far that it hits the back wall of the tank. With a small tank, it's important to be sure the clunk line isn't too stiff, this can prevent it from reaching the far corners of the tank. Also, it's common to use a short piece of brass tubing in the clunk line. This helps prevent the clunk from going to the front of the tank on a hard impact.
Old 03-13-2007, 09:55 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts