Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Good luck

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Good luck

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2002, 11:48 AM
Ghostbear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good luck

The Beginner,

You're link didn't work, for me anyway.

My 2 cents.

Please get an instructor. I've been watching our club president fly his helo for the past few months and he (one of our best pilots), 1) had it fly away and crash - took ten guys three hours to find the pieces of it, 2) Nearly cut my head off - I was standing in the pits when a bit of wind pushed the model off balance and he managed to clear our heads by a few feet (I was just about to dive under my car.

Looks like fun, though...

GB
Old 08-28-2002, 12:22 PM
FHHuber
Banned

Default Hello, i'm new to RC Helicopters, looking for help please

First option is always to find an instructor. The assistance in setting up the heli will make things go much easier. Hard enough to learn to take-off... harder still if the darn thing isn't trimmed out and you don't have a clue how to keep the beast from flipping over while trimming it.

The way Sikorsky taught himself to fly the first helo (no one knew how...) was he tied it with short lengths of chain to blocks or stakes, which allowed very little movement. When he finally got to where he could keep all the chains from going tight, he lengthened them, so he could go a bit higher... and started over.

that system would work for an R/C heli if you CAN'T find anyone near you to give instructions. (and then move to a hoola hoop style training gear until you get better.)

don't foget to get a gyro and put it in on the tail rotor... else, you will have a VERY hard time.
Old 08-28-2002, 07:11 PM
jack01
My Feedback: (3)