Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 14 of 14

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    HI guys n gals

    Ordered a mode 2 DX7 system (for planes obviously) and when i went to pick it up today I was supplied with the mode 2 'helicopter' version

    The shop tells me 'this is all thats available' in terms of mode 2 in Aust, and in operation heli/plane versions are identical, its just a few levers are labelled differently

    what are peoples thoughts on this?

    i really would prefer a 'airplane version'...

  2. #2
    -pkh-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Emmaus, PA
    Posts
    3,354
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    I started with nitro helicopters before I got into planes, so I got used to the smooth throttle stick on the heli radios. My first radio was a Futaba 9CHP (9C, Heli version, with Pcm RX), I subsequently have flown all my planes on this radio as well.

    When I bought a DX7, I got the heli version for the smooth throttle stick... but I've only flown planes with it so far!

    You should be able to get either version, though... I think your shop is just trying to unload what they happen to have on you...
    Paul - Helis: Two Raptor 50V2s, Venture 30CP, Blade CX2
    Planes: Twist 60, Tribute 36, Two PZ BL P51s, Two F27C Strykers

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    thanks

    i have read on other forums that suppliers only import the heli versions (for modes 1 and 2) into aus...

    my concern is the differently labelled switches etc....seems silly to have the heli version...

    do the switches for flaps/landing gear etc work the same?

  4. #4
    Redback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Pretty sure mine came labelled "Heli" (albeit mode 1), programmed it last Sunday and all seemed to be as per the instructions regarding switches etc.

    Don't think you will have a problem. I found the programming to be better than both my current Txs. There's a lot of flexibility in assigning switches anyway.

    Terry

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Thanks Terry

    I am going to call modelflight today just to make sure there isnt fixed wing versions in Oz....i would prefer it if its there, bu if not its nice to know the heli version is fine too

    I guess an advantage is if i decide i wanna buy a heli down the track...i am covered...

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Ok

    I called the supplier, and he confirmed that only 'heli versions' have been imported to Oz

    He said the 2 versions are functionally identical, with the only difference being a couple of the rocker switches are differently labelled (ie 'flap' for plane version and 'hover/pitch' for heli)

    Question is, based on net pics, on plane version the middle rocker on the left (flap) looks to be a 3-position switch, whereas heli has the rocker labelled 'gear' and is only a 2-position switch

    what does this mean?

    confused

  7. #7
    Redback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    I am at work now and don't have my Tx in front of me, however I can confirm that the flap switch is a three position switch on my right hand side as I face the Tx.

    Gear is a two position switch also on my right next to the aileron dual rate. Can't remember how the two rocker switches are labelled, will check when I get home (soon, only working 1/2 day today!). Will try and post a couple of close up pics this pm.


    Terry

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    mate that would be great, cheers

    mine is heli version as per below:

    [img]http://www.b*********.co.uk/product_images/2007012104352_Spektrum%20DX7.jpg[/img]

    now see plane version, note middle-left rocker (flap) which has 3 positions


  9. #9
    Redback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Here's mine, as you can see it's a bit different again from yours re the switches. I don't anticipate any problems even though they are positioned a bit different from my current (JR) trannies. Programmed my PA Edge 540 on Sunday and loved what it could do. Easier set up than my old 388 by miles.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vt58254.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	226.9 KB 
ID:	757994   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Zu64074.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	227.2 KB 
ID:	757995   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jo31866.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	185.8 KB 
ID:	757996   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ga78426.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	228.8 KB 
ID:	757997  

  10. #10
    -pkh-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Emmaus, PA
    Posts
    3,354
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    On the heli version, the switch on the top left is the "flight mode" switch and has 3 positions, and the "gear" switch on the front left has 2 positions.

    On the airplane version, the switch on the top left is the "gear" switch and has two positions, and the "flap mix" switch on the front left has 3 positions.

    Basically these two switches are just swapped between the two versions.

    Check out pages 27 and 63 of the manuals for the labelling for each...

    http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo...DX7_Manual.pdf
    Paul - Helis: Two Raptor 50V2s, Venture 30CP, Blade CX2
    Planes: Twist 60, Tribute 36, Two PZ BL P51s, Two F27C Strykers

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    a great help, thanks guys!

    so the FLT MODE switch becomes my 3-pos flap switch...

  12. #12
    Redback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Yep,

    At least thats the way I've programmed the Edge.

    Plan to use the DX7 first time tomorrow.

    Terry

  13. #13
    pfatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mena, AR
    Posts
    111
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    Very recently I ordered my DX7 from Hobby Lobby after much research. Many shops offered the Airplane/Heli version and the Heli Version and also an Airplane version. I could not see any difference in the specs (not very informative) but figured since I plan to fly both, I needed the slightly more expensive Ap/Heli version. I wondered if they came with different Servos but could not find out. ???????????????

    Maybe they all are the same in capability.

    I haven't finished my first plane yet but I think your LHS fed you a line of bull.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

    i rang the national importer....only 'heli versions' have been imported

    he says the functions are identical (as explained above) so im more than happy


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.