Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Reply
Old 09-06-2007, 07:17 AM
  #1
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

HI guys n gals

Ordered a mode 2 DX7 system (for planes obviously) and when i went to pick it up today I was supplied with the mode 2 'helicopter' version

The shop tells me 'this is all thats available' in terms of mode 2 in Aust, and in operation heli/plane versions are identical, its just a few levers are labelled differently

what are peoples thoughts on this?

i really would prefer a 'airplane version'...
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:03 AM
  #2
-pkh-
 
-pkh-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Emmaus, PA
Posts: 3,354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

I started with nitro helicopters before I got into planes, so I got used to the smooth throttle stick on the heli radios. My first radio was a Futaba 9CHP (9C, Heli version, with Pcm RX), I subsequently have flown all my planes on this radio as well.

When I bought a DX7, I got the heli version for the smooth throttle stick... but I've only flown planes with it so far!

You should be able to get either version, though... I think your shop is just trying to unload what they happen to have on you...
-pkh- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 04:48 PM
  #3
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

thanks

i have read on other forums that suppliers only import the heli versions (for modes 1 and 2) into aus...

my concern is the differently labelled switches etc....seems silly to have the heli version...

do the switches for flaps/landing gear etc work the same?
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 05:17 PM
  #4
Redback
 
Redback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Pretty sure mine came labelled "Heli" (albeit mode 1), programmed it last Sunday and all seemed to be as per the instructions regarding switches etc.

Don't think you will have a problem. I found the programming to be better than both my current Txs. There's a lot of flexibility in assigning switches anyway.

Terry
Redback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 05:26 PM
  #5
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Thanks Terry

I am going to call modelflight today just to make sure there isnt fixed wing versions in Oz....i would prefer it if its there, bu if not its nice to know the heli version is fine too

I guess an advantage is if i decide i wanna buy a heli down the track...i am covered...
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:38 PM
  #6
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Ok

I called the supplier, and he confirmed that only 'heli versions' have been imported to Oz

He said the 2 versions are functionally identical, with the only difference being a couple of the rocker switches are differently labelled (ie 'flap' for plane version and 'hover/pitch' for heli)

Question is, based on net pics, on plane version the middle rocker on the left (flap) looks to be a 3-position switch, whereas heli has the rocker labelled 'gear' and is only a 2-position switch

what does this mean?

confused
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:53 PM
  #7
Redback
 
Redback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

I am at work now and don't have my Tx in front of me, however I can confirm that the flap switch is a three position switch on my right hand side as I face the Tx.

Gear is a two position switch also on my right next to the aileron dual rate. Can't remember how the two rocker switches are labelled, will check when I get home (soon, only working 1/2 day today!). Will try and post a couple of close up pics this pm.


Terry
Redback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:20 PM
  #8
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

mate that would be great, cheers

mine is heli version as per below:

[img]http://www.b*********.co.uk/product_images/2007012104352_Spektrum%20DX7.jpg[/img]

now see plane version, note middle-left rocker (flap) which has 3 positions

AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:25 PM
  #9
Redback
 
Redback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Here's mine, as you can see it's a bit different again from yours re the switches. I don't anticipate any problems even though they are positioned a bit different from my current (JR) trannies. Programmed my PA Edge 540 on Sunday and loved what it could do. Easier set up than my old 388 by miles.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58254.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	226.9 KB
ID:	757994   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu64074.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	227.2 KB
ID:	757995   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jo31866.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	185.8 KB
ID:	757996   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ga78426.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	228.8 KB
ID:	757997  
Redback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:31 PM
  #10
-pkh-
 
-pkh-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Emmaus, PA
Posts: 3,354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

On the heli version, the switch on the top left is the "flight mode" switch and has 3 positions, and the "gear" switch on the front left has 2 positions.

On the airplane version, the switch on the top left is the "gear" switch and has two positions, and the "flap mix" switch on the front left has 3 positions.

Basically these two switches are just swapped between the two versions.

Check out pages 27 and 63 of the manuals for the labelling for each...

http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo...DX7_Manual.pdf
-pkh- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:48 PM
  #11
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

a great help, thanks guys!

so the FLT MODE switch becomes my 3-pos flap switch...
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 01:13 AM
  #12
Redback
 
Redback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GraftonNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Yep,

At least thats the way I've programmed the Edge.

Plan to use the DX7 first time tomorrow.

Terry
Redback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:28 PM
  #13
pfatz
 
pfatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mena, AR
Posts: 111
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

Very recently I ordered my DX7 from Hobby Lobby after much research. Many shops offered the Airplane/Heli version and the Heli Version and also an Airplane version. I could not see any difference in the specs (not very informative) but figured since I plan to fly both, I needed the slightly more expensive Ap/Heli version. I wondered if they came with different Servos but could not find out. ???????????????

Maybe they all are the same in capability.

I haven't finished my first plane yet but I think your LHS fed you a line of bull.
pfatz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 07:44 AM
  #14
AustFLYER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 mode 2 'helicopter version' ???

i rang the national importer....only 'heli versions' have been imported

he says the functions are identical (as explained above) so im more than happy
AustFLYER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:54 PM.