Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

34 year old OS Max 40SR engine revival

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

34 year old OS Max 40SR engine revival

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2008, 05:15 PM
cappaj1
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 34 year old OS Max 40SR engine revival

I sent back an OS Max 46 AX to Hobby Services yesterday. I'll be waiting until next weekend at the earliest to fly and I'm a newbie who just recently solo'd so I'm eager to get back in the sky but only have that single trainer with the engine I sent back.

I have an old OS Max 40SR Schnuerlye Ported engine that's been sitting for 34 years, after only a break-in and single flight.

I'd love to get it running for my trainer while I'm waiting for resolution on my 46AX. I need help though. I've never disassembled an engine. It wouldn't turn over by hand at first, the throttle would barely move and the hi speed needle seemed frozen. With alot of torque applied, I got it to turn over but there was just a constant resistance, no compression increase or exhaust decrease.

So I pulled the carb, muffler, head and crankcase backplate (which had a paper gasket in it which I re-used as best I could) , took the below photos, and then immersed all the parts in antifreeze.

Then, while immersed, I turned the engine over and slowly it loosened itself up so I got a compression and exhaust stroke feel. I reassembled everything. I also got the throttle to move easily, but the hi speed needle. even though I completely removed it and applied antifreeze, is still stiff when turned almost all the way in. I don't even know if I'm getting it to full clockwise/closed and it just gets real tight.