Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

CA hinges came loose.

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

CA hinges came loose.

Old 12-07-2008, 10:27 PM
millertym2000
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CA hinges came loose.

I have a Tiger 60 that I kit built, I've been flying it for about 6 months and yesterday I looked at the wing and noticed that on one of the ailerons 3 of the 4 CA hinges came loose [X(]. I've never really liked the looks of CA hinges, but I know they are proven to work. Well now that I have to rehinge the aileron I think I'm going to use something else. I looked at tower and seen these http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXK117&P=0. Are these good hinges? And what size would I need for my tiger 60, the small, medium, or large? Thanks again for any help. James
Old 12-07-2008, 10:30 PM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: CA hinges came loose.

When you installed the CA hinges originally, did you insert them into both the wing-trailing-edge and the aileron joints "dry"? Then you drop about 5 drops of super-thin CA into the hinge line and the glue soaks up inside the hinges and they never come loose.

Probably the medium size of replacement hinges will work for you.
Old 12-07-2008, 10:43 PM
millertym2000
My Feedback: (4)

yes, I put the hinges in the aileron and the TE dry, then used ultra thin CA. I used 6 to 8 drops on each. Was that to much?
Old 12-07-2008, 10:46 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

Did the CA hinge pull out clean?? or was there any wood stuck to it? If it came out clean then chances are the slot was cut too wide for the hinge, and the hinge never had any wood against it for the material to bind to when you applied the CA.

Ken
Old 12-07-2008, 10:46 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts