Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Second Plane recommendation

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Second Plane recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 07:23 AM
Warnberg
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Second Plane recommendation

I have been flying my Hobbico Superstar for about 6 months now and to tell the truth I'm a little bored with it. My wife bought me a Nitro Models Extra 330 and it has been completed with a OS FS-91 Surpass II w/pump. The new plane has been to the field, engine broke in, plane trimmed and it's ready to go but I'm a little nervous to fly it myself. Some of the guys (my instructor being one of them) at the field tell me "You can fly that plane fine, just take your time with it" other's tell me "That's a little too advanced for you yet"

So what do I do? Do I fine a second plane, something in between the trainer and the extra, something like a Ultra Sport 40, or maybe the raptor 40 or do I just fly the extra?

Suggestions?

Thanks,
Old 12-08-2008, 07:41 AM
speedair

Default RE: Second Plane recommendation

I got a speed air 40 it was a 40 size plane. They say its a trainer but it is a lot faster and more manouverable than the trainer. It will do almost any aerobatic manouver including outside loops
Old 12-08-2008, 07:42 AM
TakingFlight96

I suggest that you use the Extra as a 3rd or 4th plane. For a second plane most people need a low wing with simple aerobatic capabilities. I suggest the Phoenix Dolphin .46, Iam flying that plane right now and I have already completed 4 point rolls, loops, aileron rolls, etc. I recommend you tone things down on that plane for the first several flights, when you get good enough you can kick up the throws and the throttle and it'll just tear up the sky (and your adrenaline really gets pumping too ). I just love to buzz the field with it, just gives ya such a rush.