Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Exhaust pressure line

Reply
Old 03-16-2009, 03:53 PM
  #1
rsands2801
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Exhaust pressure line

Prob a silly one here...but does it matter if the exhaust pressure line is slightly on the longer side? I dont mean that long that i can cable tie it but a bit of slack on it?
rsands2801 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 03:59 PM
  #2
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

No problemo
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 04:19 PM
  #3
billd76
 
billd76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nottingham, PA
Posts: 1,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

It's no problem, but why not just cut it shorter?
billd76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 05:04 PM
  #4
rsands2801
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

its pretty awkward to get the plane tank drained after use and i was going to put a t piece on it that i can drain the fuel from when the plane is sitting upside down. - obviously i would have a part on the line to exhaust to stop it going into the exhaust
rsands2801 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 05:50 PM
  #5
CGRetired
Moderator
 
CGRetired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 8,999
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

Drain it the same way you fueled it up. Pump it out of the needle valve feed line.

CGr
CGRetired is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 06:35 PM
  #6
rsands2801
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

I use the fuel fill line to fill it. I have a cowl so the fuel line is tucked up inside the cowl and i cant get anywere near it without taking it off each time...sorry should have mentioned that
rsands2801 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:02 PM
  #7
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 26,772
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rsands2801

I use the fuel fill line to fill it. I have a cowl so the fuel line is tucked up inside the cowl and i cant get anywere near it without taking it off each time...sorry should have mentioned that
You can use the fill line to drain it then. Set up a 3 line system with a clunk on the 3rd line. Then you will be able to pump the fuel out of the tank. Much easier than turning the plane upside down to empty the tank. The attached diagram shows the fuel line without a clunk. You can do it that way, but it will work better with a clunk on it.

Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12115.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	1159415  
RCKen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:06 PM
  #8
coydog
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: oneida, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

2801 how do refule your plane if you want to make more then one flight you take the cowl off every time you fill it? maybe i'm missing something here
coydog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:45 PM
  #9
rsands2801
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

sorry didn't realise how i typed that (long day in work!)...i have 3 lines...fuel fill line, pressure line, fuel supply line. i have the 3rd fuel fill line to fill the tank but dont have a clunk on it as it came with only a small bar allowing me to fill the tank but not drain. going to do that as above...put a bit of hose on it and a clunk then it can be used as a fuel fill and drain line.....sometimes the answer is so simple and practical yet never think of it.
rsands2801 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:50 PM
  #10
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exhaust pressure line

You don't even need a clunk. Just point the tube toward the bottom of the tank (like in the image above) and it will stay at the bottom - cause that's where you need it to be in order to de-fuel
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:14 AM.