Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    154
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Exhaust pressure line

    Prob a silly one here...but does it matter if the exhaust pressure line is slightly on the longer side? I dont mean that long that i can cable tie it but a bit of slack on it?

  2. #2
    MinnFlyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Willmar, MN
    Posts
    28,519
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    No problemo
    Mike B. AMA# 42400 www.gettingairborne.com
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #2 - Waco Brother #188 - Cub Brother #2

    \"Those are my principles. If you don’t like them, I have others.\" - Groucho Marx

  3. #3
    billd76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, PA
    Posts
    1,183
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    It's no problem, but why not just cut it shorter?
    SSGT USMC 75,83 Son Brian USMC Intel/Excelon Energy Corp, Son Matt USMC Air Traffic Control/Penn State

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    154
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    its pretty awkward to get the plane tank drained after use and i was going to put a t piece on it that i can drain the fuel from when the plane is sitting upside down. - obviously i would have a part on the line to exhaust to stop it going into the exhaust

  5. #5
    Moderator CGRetired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    8,999
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    Drain it the same way you fueled it up. Pump it out of the needle valve feed line.

    CGr
    Skylark 70 - OS .75 AX; Excelleron 90 - OS 1.20 AX; Venus II - OS 1.20 AX; And, I still fly my trainer, Hanger 9 Alpha - OS .46 FX! Some electrics. Airtronics RD8000 - Spektrum DX7 - DX6i. AMA 705964.
    Semper Paratus!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    154
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    I use the fuel fill line to fill it. I have a cowl so the fuel line is tucked up inside the cowl and i cant get anywere near it without taking it off each time...sorry should have mentioned that

  7. #7
    RCU Forum Manager/Admin RCKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lawton, OK
    Posts
    25,741
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line


    ORIGINAL: rsands2801

    I use the fuel fill line to fill it. I have a cowl so the fuel line is tucked up inside the cowl and i cant get anywere near it without taking it off each time...sorry should have mentioned that
    You can use the fill line to drain it then. Set up a 3 line system with a clunk on the 3rd line. Then you will be able to pump the fuel out of the tank. Much easier than turning the plane upside down to empty the tank. The attached diagram shows the fuel line without a clunk. You can do it that way, but it will work better with a clunk on it.

    Ken
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ig12115.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	40.8 KB 
ID:	1159415  
    The take off is optional, but the landing is MANDATORY!!
    RCU Forum Manager
    www.gettingairborne.com
    RCKen Publications
    Brotherhood's
    Ultra Sport Brother #1
    Sig Brotherhood #4
    Balsa USA #4

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    oneida, NY
    Posts
    32
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    2801 how do refule your plane if you want to make more then one flight you take the cowl off every time you fill it? maybe i'm missing something here

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    banbridgenorthern ireland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    154
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    sorry didn't realise how i typed that (long day in work!)...i have 3 lines...fuel fill line, pressure line, fuel supply line. i have the 3rd fuel fill line to fill the tank but dont have a clunk on it as it came with only a small bar allowing me to fill the tank but not drain. going to do that as above...put a bit of hose on it and a clunk then it can be used as a fuel fill and drain line.....sometimes the answer is so simple and practical yet never think of it.

  10. #10
    MinnFlyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Willmar, MN
    Posts
    28,519
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Exhaust pressure line

    You don't even need a clunk. Just point the tube toward the bottom of the tank (like in the image above) and it will stay at the bottom - cause that's where you need it to be in order to de-fuel
    Mike B. AMA# 42400 www.gettingairborne.com
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #2 - Waco Brother #188 - Cub Brother #2

    \"Those are my principles. If you don’t like them, I have others.\" - Groucho Marx


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.