Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

What adhesive should I use on foam?

Old 06-12-2009, 01:49 PM
danwa

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What adhesive should I use on foam?

I recently bought a Super Cub LP RTF (made of Z foam) by Hobby Zone. Icrashed it and broke the plastic firewall. I bought replacement parts at Hobbytown, and knowing I was a beginner and needed help, they recommended Zap Goo pt-12 adhesive (which they sold me). For some reason I got nervous about it and called them back. They then recommended I try it first on some of the foam in the packing material. When I did, the foam from the packing immediately started to melt.

Since then, I have talked to Hobbytown twice, Hobby Zone tech reps twice, and even the tech rep for the company that makes Zap Goo. I have been told use the Zap Goo, don't use the Zap Goo, use a medium CA, don't use a CA, and in the end, the people at all three places ended up saying they didn't know what to tell me, except that I might just have to keep buying stuff and scraping some foam off the engine block (I really don't want to cut my plane up) to experiment with.

It makes no sense to me that these tech experts can't tell me what to use. The problem is that foam-safe CA apparently is a permanent bond, and I need a flexible bond (which nobody seems to know a product that is flexible and foam safe) because Ineed to be able to replace the firewall again (if I damage it again) without tearing up the foam. I have been told that Zfoam would probably not be the same consistency as the styrofoam I experimented on, but none of these people can guarantee me that whatever I use won't eat the Zfoam too. I saw a video by the plane designer and he talked like you don't even have to use foam-safe adhesive on this plane!

Is there anyone out there that has ever had to use a flexible adhesive on Zfoam, who can tell me what to use, and is really sure of it? I would really appreciate the help.