Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Getting into electric: What about the Lipo

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Getting into electric: What about the Lipo

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2010, 03:53 AM
ameyam

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting into electric: What about the Lipo

Dear All,

I have been flying glow for about 3 years now and was considering going electric with a backyard flier. Two questions here:

1) Lipo battries: they come with a warning that they should not be charged unattended. Hold on a minute, no one can sit all day with the battery in hand waiting for it to charge[]. So actually how much and what precaution is needed and what can be done to to make charging as safe as possible

2) What airplane to take? Foamy or balsa. I want a sturdy plane that I can 3d with (did I just say that in one sentense?) Right now only Great Planes is obtainable. And what power loading will 3D require? I intend to fly outdoor in light winds

Ameyam
Old 05-04-2010, 05:08 AM
el-John-o

Default RE: Getting into electric: What about the Lipo

Ameyam,

To answer the first question, there are two parts I see from that. 1- covering their butts, lipos have a greater risk of leaking or exploding if improperly charged then say, a nicd, so when the fire department shows up and says your house burned down because of a lipo sitting on the shelf, you can't go and sue the lipo manufacturer.

The second part, and the solution for the first part, is the use of a cycler or 'smart' charger, something like this. I personally, would never mess with lipos without something like that, those will intelligintly tend, charge and discharge them. It will also greatly increase the life of the battery over time.

Good luck!

John

(Sorry, I have no suggestions for a stable 3D electric).
Old 05-04-2010, 05:22 AM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post