Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Mode 1 vs. Mode 2

Hello everybody
    Ok, I know most of the general arguments about the modes. But I also know that I'm a total newbie, so I'd appreciate some advice/knowledge. (This site is awesome)

1. I'm set on teaching myself to fly, so finding a mode 1 flight instructor is not an issue.
    2. I plan on getting my pilot's license. (full scale)
    3. I believe that mode 1 makes more sense for rc planes (separation of aileron and elevator seems more precise), and mode 2 makes more sense for helis (separation would make flying more difficult rather than more precise. Note: I can't fly didley, so what do I know?
    4. I got a Hitec 6channel, and swapped it over to mode1, but I still can't even land a trainer on my Real Flight, so its not too late to go back.
    5. I want to be a Sunday flyer, but eventually I plan to get into giant scale 3D and Pylon racing (I was blown away at the Madera air races). I plan to compete, but winning is not important.

I would love to be the cool guythat flysmode 1 in the US, but dang I don't wanna be an outsider. Plus, if I teach some kid to fly mode 1 someday, I might be doing him or her a disservice.

I'm getting serious about learning to fly. I've got the time and some money, so I need to commit one way or another.
    I'm in a club of great guys (SAM Salinas Area Modelers)that fly mode 2 exclusively, but I'm keeping an open mind. Although I'm not rich, I can afford the crashesthat will come with teaching myself.
    Any advice would be much appreciated.

Is it possible to learn both?

Respectfully, Salinas Hawk
    \"Do or do not... there is no try\"
    Yoda: Jedi Master

Gallery