Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

learn to fly

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

learn to fly

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2010, 06:48 PM
kitten14496

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default learn to fly

i am learning to fly my trainer. Any tips?!
Old 01-22-2010, 07:05 PM
Jollidude
My Feedback: (39)

Default RE: learn to fly

Listen to what your dad says !

Daddy
Old 01-22-2010, 07:38 PM
DaveB

Find a club and learn with an instructor. The self taught method is very seldom successful.

DaveB
Old 01-22-2010, 08:39 PM
skylane_182

I highly recommend you find a club / trainer. I spent many years training myself - and while I was successful sometimes, I had many unnecessary crashes [X(] The advice and guidance you'll receive from club members is priceless. It also gave me access to lots of good used equipment for cheap which helps starting out tremendously!!
Old 01-22-2010, 10:06 PM
bingo field

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

One step at a time, and concentrate on each step. Straight and level. Turns in one direction. Turns in the other direction. *the choice of direction is up to you and instructor, based on observation of your skills... Figure 8's next. Throw in a few loops, a few rolls during these exercises as you increase in skill. Approach and landing techniques. Takeoffs. Stall recovery in different situations. Dead stick landings. As it takes a little time to accomplish all these, you throw the changing weather into the mix to add to your experience, and you become proficient at accommodating change, required to really be an accomplished pilot. Doing this with the help of an instructor makes it a very progressive learning experience, shortening the learning curve, and diminishing the chance of a bad crash. Good Luck!
Old 01-23-2010, 07:13 AM
Luchnia
My Feedback: (21)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post