Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

how many flights out of a Battery!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

how many flights out of a Battery!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2010, 03:26 AM
eastcoast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how many flights out of a Battery!!!

well i wanted too know Approx how many Flights i could expect out of my 2700Mah Nimh Battery ,so i did a little test too get a idea,im still learning about Battery's ,so if anyone has any input,By all means feel free...

I did a test too kinda get a idea on Approx how many flights i would get out of a 2700mah and this is what i came up with.
Plane-GP Cherokee/Radio-DX6i/Servos- 7 Futaba 3004's/Sanyo2700mah 5C 6V battery/Engine-OS 46AX.
Radio is set for 12 minute flights.

-Battery fully charged @7.50V 2700mah
- ive been told its good Practice too recharge a Battery when i drops too around 6V

- First i checked the Voltage of the battery and it read 6.26...(I was using the battery off on on for the last few days while adjusting some settings in the TX,so it was dropped too 6.26).
- Powered up TX then RX and pulled my trainer Switch too start the timer and moved the servos as if were flying /taxing for the whole 12 mins. when 12 min was up shut off RX/TX.
- used a digital muti-meter and tested the voltage of battery,readings were 6.15
- .11 volts used on a 12 min flight

so if battery is full at 7.5V and recharge is at 6V that gives you
1.50Volts of flying time 1.50V/.11 =13.6
so in theory you should get Appox 13 flights on a fully charged 6volt battery.
that was yesterday and today i rechecked the voltage of the battery and the reading was 6.18 form 6.15 yeasteday after my first test,im planning on doing it 2-3 test ,jsut too see for consistency.

Old 05-04-2010, 04:05 AM
The Ghost

Default RE: how many flights out of a Battery!!!